1920: The Year of Six Presidents (Audiobook)

English | December 11, 2009 | Kbps | ASIN: B0030GXXYQ | Duration: 20 h 46 m | 1,11 GB

David Pietrusza (Author), Paul Boehmer (Narrator)

The presidential election of 1920 was among history’s most dramatic. Six once-and-future presidentsWilson, Harding, Coolidge, Hoover, and Teddy and Franklin Rooseveltjockeyed for the White House. With voters choosing between Wilson’s League of Nations and Harding’s front-porch isolationism, the 1920 election shaped modern America. Women won the vote. Republicans outspent Democrats by 4 to 1, as voters witnessed the first extensive newsreel coverage, modern campaign advertising, and results broadcast on radio. America had become an urban nation: Automobiles, mass production, chain stores, and easy credit transformed the economy. 1920 paints a vivid portrait of America, beset by the Red Scare, jailed dissidents, Prohibition, smoke-filled rooms, bomb-throwing terrorists, and the Klan, gingerly crossing modernity’s threshold.

(Buy premium account for maximum speed and resuming ability)